Connect with us


No Pakistan as ICC announces team of the tournament for T20 World Cup

No Pakistani players have been included in the International Cricket Council’s team of the tournament for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. Instead, the lineup features six players from the victorious Indian squad. Pakistan faced an early exit from the tournament.

The ICC’s team of the tournament includes:

Rohit Sharma: Leading from the front, Rohit Sharma played a pivotal role with the bat, scoring 257 runs at a strike rate of 156.7, including several impactful innings such as a blazing 92 against Australia in the Super Eight and a crucial 57 in the semi-final.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz: Partnering with Ibrahim Zadran, Gurbaz scored 446 runs, forming crucial partnerships and contributing significantly to Afghanistan’s journey to the semi-finals.

Nicholas Pooran: Establishing himself as a key batsman in the format, Pooran scored 228 runs with a strike rate of 146.16, including a standout knock of 98 against Afghanistan, the highest individual score of the tournament.

Suryakumar Yadav: Yadav showcased his prowess in the middle-order with two half-centuries and a crucial 47 in the semi-final against England, making valuable contributions despite challenging batting conditions.

Marcus Stoinis: Stoinis emerged as Australia’s standout performer, delivering with both bat and ball, notably with a match-winning performance against Oman and Scotland.

Hardik Pandya: Pandya played crucial roles with bat and ball, notably his key wicket in the final and his contributions throughout India’s successful campaign.

Axar Patel: Patel’s all-round contributions were vital, including impactful batting performances and crucial spells with the ball, highlighted by a counter-attacking 47 in the final.

Rashid Khan: Leading Afghanistan with distinction, Rashid Khan took 14 wickets at an economy rate of 6.17, playing a pivotal role in his team’s journey to the semi-finals.

Jasprit Bumrah: Named Player of the Tournament, Bumrah’s exceptional bowling and economy rate of 4.17 were instrumental in India’s title-winning campaign.

Arshdeep Singh: Singh impressed with his bowling, finishing as a joint-highest wicket-taker with 17 scalps and playing a crucial role in India’s victory in the final.

Fazalhaq Farooqi: Farooqi shared the top spot for wickets in the tournament, contributing significantly to Afghanistan’s historic semi-final appearance with his left-arm pace.

12th man: Anrich Nortje: Nortje’s pace and effectiveness with the ball earned him recognition, particularly his performance in the final with figures of 2/26 for South Africa.

This selection reflects the standout performances and contributions that defined the T20 World Cup 2024, with India emerging as champions after a 17-year wait.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in SPORTS