Connect with us


India beat Bangladesh by 50 runs in Super Eight clash

India secured their second victory in the Super Eight stage of the T20 World Cup 2024 on Saturday, defeating Bangladesh by 50 runs at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua. Kuldeep Yadav led the bowling attack with a three-wicket haul, supported by Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh who took two wickets each. This restricted Bangladesh to 146 runs while chasing a challenging target of 197 runs set by India.

Bangladesh’s top scorers included Najmul Hossain Shanto with 40 runs, Tanzid Hasan with 29 runs, and Rishad Hossain with 24 runs.

Earlier in the match, Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bowl first. India’s innings saw Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli providing a strong start with 23 and 37 runs respectively. Rishabh Pant contributed 36 runs before being dismissed, while Kuldeep Yadav added six runs. Later in the innings, Shivam Dube (34) and Hardik Pandya (50) forged a crucial fifth-wicket partnership, helping India set a formidable target for Bangladesh.

With this win, India topped Group A and began their Super Eight campaign impressively after a 47-run victory over Afghanistan. Bangladesh, on the other hand, finished as runners-up in Group C behind South Africa but faced defeat in their Super Eight encounter against Australia.

Following the loss of the toss, Indian captain Rohit Sharma remarked, “We wanted to bat first, so now we just need to put up a good show.”


Bangladesh XI: Tanzid Hasan, Litton Das (wicketkeeper), Najmul Hossain Shanto (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Jaker Ali, Tanzim Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman

India XI: Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in SPORTS