Connect with us


ILT20 Season 3: Russell, Narine, Warner, Pooran among top retentions

Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, David Warner, and Mohammad Amir are among the 69 players retained by their respective teams for the upcoming third season of ILT20.

Defending champions MI Emirates have retained captain Nicholas Pooran, Dwayne Bravo, Akeal Hosein, Kieron Pollard, and Fazalhaq Farooqi. However, Trent Boult, who played for Emirates last season, has not been retained. Meanwhile, Abu Dhabi Knight Riders have retained captain Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, David Willey, Charith Asalanka, and USA’s Ali Khan and Andries Gous among others.

Desert Vipers have retained players like Mohammad Amir, Wanindu Hasaranga, Alex Hales, and Azam Khan. Notably absent from their retention list are fast bowlers Shaheen Shah Afridi and Matheesha Pathirana, and Colin Munro who captained them last season.

Dubai Capitals have retained key players including captain David Warner, Rovman Powell, Sam Billings, and Jake Fraser-McGurk. England’s Joe Root and Mark Wood, part of the squad last year, have not been retained.

Gulf Giants’ retention list is headlined by Shimron Hetmyer and captain James Vince, while USA’s Saurabh Netravalkar and Afghanistan spinner Mujeeb Ur Rehman did not make the cut. Sharjah Warriors have retained players like Kusal Mendis, captain Tom Kohler-Cadmore, and Johnson Charles among others.

Each franchise has retained two UAE players, and there is no restriction on the retention of international players. Franchises can now sign new players until September 15 during the ongoing player acquisition window. They will also finalize their squad after the ILT20 development tournament in October.

The third season of ILT20 is scheduled to take place from January 11 to February 9, 2025, across Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and Sharjah.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in SPORTS